Why Join WATAC???

The Washington Area Tougaloo Alumni Chapter (WATAC) continues to work diligently and enthusiastically on varied projects. WATAC wants and needs YOU to be a part of it all! The sole purpose of WATAC is to benefit our beloved Tougaloo College. WATAC consistently contributes to the college each year. We give individually, as well as collectively. From our fundraiser, Mississippi on the Potomac Forever we raise funds which are given to the college for scholarships and the general fund.

We also have fundraiser items online available for sale including the Chapel, Gate, and Mansion Tapestry Throws, Art from the Art Lot, Chapel Ornament, Hermand Bennette’s Poetry Books, and “An Ordinary Hero… the true story of alum Joan Trumpauer Mulholland” DVD.

We also partner with local alumni chapters from three Mississippi HBCUs to promote participation at the TJAM (Tougaloo, Jackson State, Alcorn, Mississippi Valley State) Scholarship GALA Fundraiser in April. We also are a member of the Metro DC HBCU Alliance with 30 HBCU Alumni Chapters and participate in the annual 5k run/2k walk.


Chapter year is January 1- December 31.
Dues are $25.00 annually

Dues should be mailed to:
Edward Trussell Lewis
WATAC Business Manager
1204 Colvin Meadows Lane
Great Falls, VA 22066


  • Participate annually in recruiting fairs in the metropolitan area.
  • Participate in the annual Washington Inter-Alumni Council (WIAC) Martin Luther King Jr. Breakfast.


Members participate in monthly chapter meetings where committee goals and status are discussed.


  • Members hold individual membership with Tougaloo College National Alumni Association (TCNAA).
  • Washington Inter-Alumni Council of the United Negro College Fund-Chapter Member.
  • Chapter supports the National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education (NAFEO) college fair and activities.
  • Participate with TJAM (Tougaloo, Jackson State, Alcorn, Mississippi Valley State) alums.
  • Member of the DC Metro Area HBCU Alliance.
TCNAA Life Members Vernessa Alexander
Trey Baker, Esq.
Dr. Forrestine Barnes
Dr. Torrance Brown
Dr. Doris Browne
Dr. Eddye Bullock
Beverly Cole
Dr. Patricia A. Cole
J. Terry Davis, Esq.
Sherry Davis, Esq.
Dr. Eugene M. DeLoatch
Norma Dorsey
Shirlethia Franklin, Esq.
Herbert Gilbert
Hope Goins, Esq.
Riley A. Hamilton
Dr. Chazeman Jackson
Lovie Jackson
Clifton Jeffery, Esq.
Dr. Terralon Knight
Edward T. Lewis Jr.
Cornell A. Lynch
Dr. Keith Miller
Dr. K. C. Morrison
Kathy Mosley
Doris Epson Newton
John S. Page, Jr.
Sandra F. Peaches, Esq.
John Purnell
Dr. Tanjala S. Purnell-Idowu
John A. Rosenthall, Esq.
Dr. Dederic Taplin
Dr. LaTonya Thames Taylor
Sylvia Davis Thompson
Carolyn Walker-Henderson
Dr. Terrell Waters
Lynnette Williams
Ro’chelle D. Williams
Shetee Williams

TCNAA Subscribing Life Members
Dr. LaRhonda Ealey
Dr. LeMia Jenkins
Gregory Johnson, Esq.
Dr. Marshala Lee
Rukia Lumumba, Esq.
Marva Peace-Jackson, Esq.
Larnce Robinson
Dr. Umekei Smith
Regenia White-Robinson

To become a WATAC  member online visit:



Download the WATAC Mail-in Membership Form Here:

To become a member of the Tougaloo College National Alumni Association (TCNAA) Visit: